Categories: Uncategorized
  1. August 16, 2012 at 12:27 pm

    Good Morning Order in the Quart! I didn’t know where else to post and ask you, but this seemed an appropriate place given the reblogging of “Once And For All…” I am wondering if you would mind reviewing an insightful perspective offered by Palestinian Christians (as well as others, including at least one evangelical American) at http://www.christatthecheckpoint.com/ This conference seemed to stir up quite a bit of concern in Israel and condemnation in American among many American evangelical Protestants. I myself am Eastern Orthodox, so much of what is being discussed in “Christ at the Checkpoint” obviously falls upon sympathetic ears … hence, my request for your review and appraisal. Thank you and God bless!

    • Order in the Quart!
      August 16, 2012 at 2:56 pm

      Hello! (sigh) Thanks so much for bringing this to my attention. I will take more time to review the site, but I have a couple immediate thoughts. Please forgive me if I review information that you might already be familiar with, I would not want to insult your intelligence ๐Ÿ™‚ First off, I have no doubt that Palestinian Christians are THE most persecuted in that region. Simply because I sympathize with Israel and the Jewish people, I do not overlook the fact that Christians in Israel face great pressure. Having said that, there is a movemement within the evangelical community called “Emergent” and many within that movement embrace “replacement theology.” This mindset believes that the Jewish inheritance (Abraham) of the land of Israel was forsaken due to a the breaking of the covenant between God and the Jewish people due to their rebellion and sin. Thus, the CHURCH replaced the benefactors, if you will, of the inheritance and the Jewish people have no claim to the land. In short, I believe that this is false teaching. There are MANY scriptures that support the continued inheritance, despite the fact that the covenant was broken. GOD reinstated it in His mercy. I will say, again, at first glance, this organization is at least seems very respectful and civil, which is more than I can say for many people who espouse replacement theology. It is my belief that this teaching is heretical. “5.Any exclusive claim to land of the Bible in the name of God is not in line with the teaching of Scripture” This is one claim in their site. That is simply NOT true. Forsaking this element in Scripture is wrong. There is a true plight of the Palestinian people, no doubt, but splicing the Scripture to conform to a cause is heresy. I will say that Israel is not perfect, nor is any country or people. The Palestinian people are repressed by an Islamist regime, not by Israel, a democratic nation. I will provide Scriptural support later, but I thought I would provide my initial thoughts now ๐Ÿ™‚ I encourage you to follow me on twitter, Jonathan!

  2. August 16, 2012 at 7:43 pm

    Well, thank you for your kind and respectful response. It is, indeed, much appreciated. And thank you, too, for your willingness to listen. Of course, being Eastern Orthodox I obviously sympathize greatly with the plight of Palestinian Christians and, according to our brothers and sisters there (again, the ones in “Christ at the Checkpoint” are actually evangelical Protestants…) it is not only Muslims persecuting Christians, but the Israelis as well. However, knowing that you are not only intelligent but also quite judicious in your evaluations ~ and I believe I’ve read enough to know this is true ~ I trust you will come to your own thoughtful conclusions regarding the claims they make. Above all, we certainly should be in prayer for our brothers and sisters there, even as we should also be in prayer for the Jewish people to embrace the only One competent to save ~ that is, Jesus Christ our Lord. Again, thank you and God bless you!

    • Order in the Quart!
      August 16, 2012 at 9:18 pm

      Amen, Jonathan! You are so correct – ultimately we must pray for people of all faiths to come to saving knowledge of Jesus Christ, in whom is the only possibilty of salvation. I SO appreciate your encouragement and discussion. Though I believe in the sovereignty, politically and Biblically, of Israel, I do not lose sight of the need for Muslims and Jews to find Christ. Jesus is the only provider of true, lasting peace. You provide such wonderful perspective, are you American?

      • August 16, 2012 at 9:20 pm

        Actually, yes! Born in Mississippi, bred in Alabama! (-:

      • Order in the Quart!
        August 16, 2012 at 10:11 pm

        LOL, you never know in cyberspace ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Order in the Quart!
        August 16, 2012 at 10:48 pm

        Ok, so I started to write a piece about Replacement Theology and realized that the time that it would take to this would be more than I can expend and I do not have degrees in theology ๐Ÿ™‚ (Not that all who do really follow the Bible they study!) I am going to fully digest this article, but I thought I would pass it to you. If I find it to be reliable and solid, I will post it to my own blog. Let me know your thoughts! http://www.shema.com/Combating%20Replacement%20Theology/crt-004.php

      • August 17, 2012 at 10:40 am

        It will certainly take some time, but we’ll do! And, again, thank you!

    • Order in the Quart!
      August 16, 2012 at 9:22 pm

      Amen, Jonathan! You are so correct – ultimately we must pray for people of all faiths to come to saving knowledge of Jesus Christ, in whom is the only possibilty of salvation. I SO appreciate your encouragement and discussion. Though I believe in the sovereignty, politically and Biblically, of Israel, I do not lose sight of the need for Muslims and Jews to find Christ. Jesus is the only provider of true, lasting peace. Are you American?

  3. August 18, 2012 at 11:48 am

    (I get so befuddled with all the replies and how they line up… I don’t even know where this will end up on the page, but anyway! LOL)

    I read the article you recommended and, even though I am not of the dispensational, premillenialist mindset, nevertheless I find that Dr. Hedrick progressed logically from start to finish in a clear, coherent and well-written presentation that offers a cogent defense of of this position. If this is your own theological, biblical perspective, then, you will likely be quite comfortable recommending “Replacement Theology: Its Origins, Teachings and Errors.”

    Let me say here, as much for the sake of my own reputation and anyone reading my reply, that I certainly believe in the the right of the nation-state of Israel to exist safely and securely within its own borders. Also, and important to the discussion, I am not a supercessionist, but at one and the same time, I do not believe the church exists alongside and “in tandem” with Israel. On this point, I believe there has been a great deal of conceptual misunderstanding.

    Perhaps most importantly, however, as a Christian and no matter my theological perspective (or “theology of the land”) I must never elevate any race or ethnicity, be they Jewish or not, above and beyond divinely mandated standards of ethics and morality because I believe they are “special” or “specially chosen.” God did not do this in the Old Testament. He did not do this in the New, nor does he do this now, which brings me back full circle to the plight of my brothers and sisters (Christians) living in Israel and suffering at the hands of that people and their government. (Something witnessed personally by a good many Christians living in our own country.)

    Thank you for inviting me to read “Replacement Theology: Its Origins, Teachings and Errors.” It was stimulating and, best of all, sent me yet once again into the holy Scriptures and onto my knees in prayer! Never a bad thing! God bless you abundantly, Jen!

    • August 25, 2012 at 12:47 am

      Keep looking forward to your take on the article (as well as any other thoughts and insights). Hope all is well with you and yours! Blessings!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

