Home > Uncategorized > Where is the justice???

Where is the justice???

Caylee Marie Anthony, age 2, residing with Jesus

Sometimes I think that I have my moments of clear, God oriented thinking at the absolute end of my day.  This would usually occur around 1am.  It would be better, in my pea-sized brain to have these thoughts at the bright dawn of the day, but God didn’t wire me that way. 

I am grappling with the idea of justice these days.  The Casey Anthony trial has spurred on my feeling of necessity in confronting my pride, my views, and where the Lord needs to refine my thinking.  For several years, I have been at the place of deep turmoil when there is an injustice.  I try to be as firmly honest as possible.  And when I don’t feel that people are being honest or that they may be trying to “pull something over” on me, I get a little…inflated and prideful.  I can get angry and annoyed too.  These are all, obviously, fabulous character traits, I know.  Don’t you wonder why I don’t have a fan page?

In light of this trial and research that I have done into personality disorders, particularly sociopathy, I am trying to sort through the idea of “justice.”  Is it even humanly possible?  I went to the Bible. (my last source that I referred to, because I am still so brain-dead in my faith, at times)  The Lord guided me to a few passages.  The first was a reference to Isaiah 53:7-8

7 He was oppressed and afflicted,
   yet he did not open his mouth;
he was led like a lamb to the slaughter,
   and as a sheep before its shearers is silent,
   so he did not open his mouth.

This is a prophetic reference to the soon coming Messiah.  Flip forward in the Bible to Mark 15

 1 Very early in the morning, the chief priests, with the elders, the teachers of the law and the whole Sanhedrin, made their plans. So they bound Jesus, led him away and handed him over to Pilate.

 2 “Are you the king of the Jews?” asked Pilate.

   “You have said so,” Jesus replied.

 3 The chief priests accused him of many things. 4 So again Pilate asked him, “Aren’t you going to answer? See how many things they are accusing you of.”

 5 But Jesus still made no reply, and Pilate was amazed.  (Emphasis added)

Jesus, being God in the flesh stands before the one man (other than God, himself, if Jesus asked) who can free and acquit him of all charges and he doesn’t respond!!  If there was ever an injustice in all the world, in all of history – THIS WAS IT!

A perfect, sinless, peaceful man is accused of crimes he didn’t commit, being punished in an inhumane and unjust way and Jesus didn’t even attempt to fight and maintain his innocence….what????

I, then, read again in Acts about the story of Saul’s (who became Paul) conversion.  The man who would be chosen to bring salvation to the gentiles, the man who would be one of the most quoted and followed leaders in the history of the church, had his beginnings torturing, jailing, accusing, and hating Christians.  What???

Didn’t God want some well-dressed guy with a clean sandals and a spotless record to bring the Good News?  Why would He want someone who had committed heinous, deplorable, unjust crimes on innocent people?

And then I realized.  God’s justice is not our broken down, corrupt vehicle used by an imperfect government.  His knowledge and perfect scope of purpose, of intent is so much more complex and complete.  The complexity of our system of laws and governing bodies are a dim, inaudible echo of His absolute perfection. 

Throughout this trial, and I watched most of it, I have prayed.  Prayed.  And Prayed some more.  I have prayed for Casey.  I have prayed for the prosecutors.  I prayed for the family members.  I prayed for the jurors.  I prayed that justice would be served, that this precious innocent little girl would have some sense of proper, justified memory and closure, here on earth, even as she dances with the angels and walks forever with the Lord. 

And then the verdicts were read.

Now, I’m mad.

I don’t see the justice.

I cannot fathom any sense out of the jury.

But, what I do know is this.  God knows.  God cares.  He allows us free will, but He also has His hand upon the situation.  Perhaps, He has plans far beyond what we can see or understand.

He uses the most bleak of situations to display the grandeur of what our minds could never conceive.

He transforms the filthiest of us to show His grace and power.

He loves the most unlovable to demonstrate his perfect love.

There are many times that things don’t turn out the way that I would have them, but more than often, that is the best blessing of all.  I don’t understand, but He does.

I am praying for the Anthony family.  I pray that the Lord would be glorified and that people would come to His saving grace. 

We can’t stand around with our pitchforks and demand justice when true, untainted justice lies outside of our realm of imagination. 

We still stand for what is right.

But, we accept that there are things that are beyond our control.  There are plans in motion that we cannot understand or comprehend. 

He cries more tears that the oceans will ever hold and He knows all.

His ways are not our ways. In our pride we think we know what justice looks like. Some things won’t make sense until we meet Him face-to-face.  Until that time we pray for one another and for those who seem violently unlovable. 

We do this to honor Him, the author and giver of Life.

Final note:  I cannot do this in my own strength.  I cannot.  I am depending upon His strength and faithfulness as I try to act upon His word.

Zechariah 7:9

9 “This is what the LORD Almighty said: ‘Administer true justice; show mercy and compassion to one another.

Isaiah 30:18

 18 Yet the LORD longs to be gracious to you;

   therefore he will rise up to show you compassion.

For the LORD is a God of justice.

   Blessed are all who wait for him!

Proverbs 16:5

The Lord detests all the proud of heart.  Be sure of this:  They will not go unpunished.

Proverbs 16: 8

Better a little with righteousness than much gain with injustice.

Isaiah 61:8

 8 “For I, the LORD, love justice;
   I hate robbery and wrongdoing.
In my faithfulness I will reward my people
   and make an everlasting covenant with them.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. July 14, 2011 at 1:57 am

    It’s interesting how you looked at all of this through the Bible. Although I don’t have strong faith like you, I appreciate how much you trust in it. I like that you are able to examine it and have peace with the verdict. Good for you:)

    • Order in the Quart!
      July 14, 2011 at 3:05 am

      Thanks for reading, Bridget. Ultimately I believe that God is the authority over everything and I trust that He can work everything out, though we often don’t understand why things occur now. He allows us to make the decisions we want, but He can still make good out of the horrendous circumstances that happen. It may not become apparent until Judgement Day, but I know that the Lord knows the beginning and the end, where I only see the here and now.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

