Home > Christianity, Conservative, Faith, God, Growth, Israel, politics, prophecy, religion, Spirituality > You Don’t Wanna Miss This….

You Don’t Wanna Miss This….

Turning a blind eye

Today I learned a valuable lesson.  (When you have twin toddlers, the lessons for parents never end.)  One of my three-year olds decided that deodorant could serve a variety of purposes.  My oldest happened to walk by the restroom to find her little sister contentedly squeezing the life out of a stick of deodorant.  After yelling for my attention, I found the happy, little vandal wringing her creamy, fragrant hands over a scattered pile of Suave flakes covering the bathroom rug.  I didn’t know whether to laugh, cry, grab the camera or start to pray.  After I cleaned her hands and picked up the bigger remains of the anti-perspirent, I took the rug outside and shook it.  The bathroom now has a heavenly aroma of powder.  We can all take comfort that the rug will avoid embarrassing pit-stains for quite sometime.  Who knew that even deodorant serves a variety of purposes?

Over the past few years, I’ve noticed a frustrating trend amongst many of my brothers and sisters-in-Christ.  Unfortunately, this mindset has sadly been either openly promoted or quietly reinforced by the Church.  Like much of the Bible, many people like to take the portions that they are comfortable with and happily toss the rest out.  This “a la carte” mentality is often coupled with blatant misuses of scripture.  However, I know that many of my brothers and sisters don’t fall into that “blatant” category.  Understanding the true meaning and intent of biblical texts can, at times, require tremendous study, reflection, and consultation.  Further, because of the abuses that many of the “blatants” have placed upon scripture, people can have a tendency to shy away from certain topics or texts for fear of being misunderstood or even lumped in with the “blatants.”  There is, perhaps, no more “taboo” topic in Christian circles than prophecy or end-times theology. 

Thanks to predecessors such as Jack van Impe and Harold Camping, those of us who enjoy researching scripture and discussing “That Great Day” can often be silenced or immediately written off as, either kooks or scholars.  (I claim to be neither, though some would disagree about the first.)  I expect that the majority of the world might come to the “nutcase” conclusion and that doesn’t bother me.  It is the reaction of the Christian community that ruffles my feathers.  When I have brought up current events and scripture or even the mere word “rapture,” with fellow believers, I am often met with naysaying, which can instantly terminate the discussion.  I hear one phrase:  “Well, you know, the Bible says that we can’t know that hour or the day.”  What I hear is, “Case closed!”  I take the hint and move on.

The reference to this brow-beaten response is found in Mark 13:32, “But about that day or hour no one knows, not even the angels in heaven, nor the Son, but only the Father.”  It is vital to understand and grasp this statement straight from the lips of Jesus, himself.  So when you hear of supposed theologians and self-proclaimed scholars who say they have determined the day that Christ is to return DO NOT LISTEN.  This is a direct contradiction of what scripture tells us!  That is a point that should be stressed and underlined.  Yet, many Christians stop here and go no further with what Jesus continued to say.  What a tragedy!  There is much more to his exhortation even prior to this statement!  But, following the place where people close the book and continue daydreaming, Jesus has this to say in the same chapter,

33 Be on guard! Be alert! You do not know when that time will come. 34 It’s like a man going away: He leaves his house and puts his servants in charge, each with their assigned task, and tells the one at the door to keep watch. 35 “Therefore keep watch because you do not know when the owner of the house will come back—whether in the evening, or at midnight, or when the rooster crows, or at dawn. 36 If he comes suddenly, do not let him find you sleeping. 37 What I say to you, I say to everyone: ‘Watch!’” (emphasis added)

Jesus is making emphatic, strong statements here!  He commands that we keep watch.  At this point in scripture, the disciples, naturally wanted to know what they were to watch for.  In other words, *hushed whisper and gasp* they wanted signs. WHOA!  Imagine that!  You got it! Jesus was the first prophecy geek!  (You know the more I live, the more I realize that Jesus was a radical.  So I’ll take that label as the highest compliment!)  So, Jesus, being God (GOD!!) and having the authority to do what ever he wanted, decided that He wanted to give us specific clues (there it is again *gasp* SIGNS!) as to what the disciples (all of us, not just the dudes in dirty sandals and robes) should look for (not stumble upon, but LOOK FOR. “Watch!”).  He said this, after he gave the signs to his return, in verses 28-31,

 28 “Now learn this lesson from the fig tree: As soon as its twigs get tender and its leaves come out, you know that summer is near. 29 Even so, when you see these things happening, you know that it is near, right at the door. 30 Truly I tell you, this generation will certainly not pass away until all these things have happened. 31 Heaven and earth will pass away, but my words will never pass away.

 And just because He knew many of us probably still wouldn’t get it, He went on to say this,

“When you see a cloud rising in the west, immediately you say, ‘It’s going to rain,’ and it does. 55 And when the south wind blows, you say, ‘It’s going to be hot,’ and it is. 56 Hypocrites! You know how to interpret the appearance of the earth and the sky. How is it that you don’t know how to interpret this present time? (Luke 12:54-56, NIV)

I love storms.  I especially love just when the storm approaches and half of the sky is bright and the other half is getting increasingly dark.  The wind blows strong and the lightning begins to flash!  It’s one of the most amazing beauties of this earth.  A few days ago, I went to take a walk with my dog and noticed a fast moving wall cloud approaching.  I knew there was a chance for thunderstorms, but, really, when can the weather report be trusted, right?  I had just begun my walk, when I am saw my favorite part of the storm approaching.  I rounded around the block, knowing that this probably couldn’t be a long walk.  I wasn’t fearful, just knew my time was limited and I was going to enjoy the view!  My sister-in-law who lives on the street behind us, actually drove by and asked if I needed a ride.  But, this was the best part of the storm!  Before it actually unleashes!  So I thanked her and my pup and I continued.  As I approached my house, big droplets began to fall.  We just got inside and then hail, larger than pea-sized, pelted the house. 

Now, once I saw the wall cloud and then the darkening sky, I knew what was coming.  I didn’t take a Sunday stroll, oblivious to what was going on all around me, but neither was I afraid.  I had no idea the storm, though swift, would get that violent, and I was so thankful that my dog and I weren’t bombarded with the shards of ice falling from the sky.  I knew my destination.  Though the beginning signs of a storm are exciting, I knew that the assault would really begin, and soon.  I was focused on getting home, but anxiety didn’t color my journey.  I didn’t have to wonder what would follow after the first indications of weather change.  Wall clouds lead to wind, lightning, and rain.  I didn’t know there would be hail, but I prepared to be in the shelter.

This is how Christ expects us to act when we see the clues he gave us about his return.  We are on a journey and recognize the signs of the impending storm.  We aren’t to be anxious and fearful, but remain vigilant and focused on our destination.  Though catastrophe and destruction swirls around us, we know that these things lead to our redemption and so we take joy in His soon coming.  The damage and pain in this world is heart-wrenching, but it cannot weigh our hearts down in dissipation and overwhelming anxiety. All the while we pray for the afflicted, persecuted, and those who don’t have the Hope that we hold on to…our Shelter from the storm.

Watch, dear brothers and sisters!  Don’t get hung up on only one part of the message.  There is so much more to what Jesus was trying to tell us….

  1. Karen Helmer
    March 26, 2011 at 4:45 pm

    Come quickly, Lord Jesus!!

    The “birth pains” will increase in frequency and intensity…I think we’re getting close!

  2. Cocopea
    March 26, 2011 at 7:45 pm

    Hi there,

    Excellent post and points you make! I am truly a watcher and I can’t wait for the Rapture! Funny story about your toddler and the deodorant..lol.

    Thanks for sharing such wisdom! Great Post!

    Blessings!

    • Order in the Quart!
      March 26, 2011 at 9:47 pm

      Thanks Cocopea! I believe we shall meet soon 🙂 Please stop by again!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

