River

  What image veils you in serenity? Waterfalls….

meadows….

rain….

palm trees and waves…

mountain tops and lakes…..

om…ooooommmm….

Well, snap back to reality.  Whether we want to or not we have bills. Taxes.  Mortgages.  Sickness.  Arguments.  Employers.  Kids.  Politicians. 

Yesterday was kind of a rough day for me.  I felt weighed down, burdened.  There wasn’t anything in my home that was amiss, but it just seemed that the crumbling world around me was suffocating.  I’m not talking solely talking about political events.  I have a wayward family member.  Someone I love dearly on the wrong path, venturing on any journey, but the one that will bring her peace and lasting security.  Though she has hit pitfall after pitfall, her desperation leads her to the next empty route.  The next mirage of happiness.  After confronting this reality, yet again,  I ran into a friend at the store and found out his mother was diagnosed with terminal cancer.  My heart hurts for his family. 

So many people right now are facing uncertain and devastating circumstances.  Divorces, job loss, sickness, pain…This world is wrought with failure.  Failure of relationships. Failure of job security.  Failure of the body.  Personal failures and government failures.  What do you say?  What do you do?  Especially for the perpetual wanderer.  If you have tried to encourage them to “think outside the box.”  If they continue to wander in the wilderness and you have given them a map to the oasis, what then

Psalm 23 is one of the most famous passages in the Bible.  Only six verses, but powerful meditations that salve the deepest wounds and encourage the most downtrodden spirit.  Today I want to highlight the second verse: 

He makes me lie down in green pastures,
       he leads me beside quiet waters

Even when we are so heavy laden with the cares of the cruel world, we have a God who walks beside us.  A God who veils us with serenity, the serenity of hope for the future and the presence of his Spirit.  His love flows over us like a cool, calming river.  He speaks to us as a quiet, bubbling brook washing over our hearts.  So many times we try to swim against the flow of his River.  We become waterlogged, tired, and some even drown, dragged under and trapped in the hidden growth below.  What if we just let the River carry us?  What if we allowed it to lead us to places unseen, trusting that it will flow only where the path has been carved out for us?  It’s a humbling prospect, letting another force lead our lives and carry us, rather than trying to control what we never had strength for anyway….

I recently came across this song written by LIGHTS.  I love it.  I hope it refreshes your soul and leads you to the Creator of the river…

Lyrics to River :
Out across cities I see buildings turn into piles
and watch the world in wonder, as mountains turn into tiles
and trees loosing their leaves and their faces becoming tired
i wish i could discover something that doesn’t expire
come stumble me

take me river, carry me far
lead me river, like a mother
take me over to some other unknown
put me in the undertow

such other things that make a kingdom rumble and shatter
the same dynamic that another day would never matter
it really just depends on who’s giving and who’s receiving
and things that don’t make sense are always a little deceiving
come and humble me

take me river, carry me far
lead me river, like a mother
take me over to some other unknown
put me in the undertow

i wanna go where you’re going
a follower, following
changing, but never changed
claiming, but never claimed

take me river, carry me far
lead me river, like a mother
take me over to some other unknown
put me in the undertow

take me river, carry me far
lead me river, like a mother
take me over to some other unknown
put me in the undertow

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

