Home > Faith, God, politics, religion, Uncategorized > Strangers in a Foreign Land

Strangers in a Foreign Land

The last 24 hours my mind has been increasing diverted to things outside the realm of worldly logic.  By now you know that this has been a mental pattern that I adopt, but there is something different.  It is difficult to express.  Which, you can imagine, must be complex given my proclivity to animated descriptives.  But, I came across a passage of scripture tonight which only further drove me to this metamorphosis. 

A bit of background:  This passage is a historical reflection of Jewish saints of the past, Abel, Enoch, Noah, and Abraham.  Each were greatly favored by God and foundational to the legacy of the Jewish people on to Jesus.  At the time this was written each of these people were gone, all dead, except for Enoch who had the distinct priviledge of being taken immediately to Heaven without dying.  (He must have been an amazing person, God allowed him to skip that certain fate of man.) 

Hebrews 11:13-15

13All these people were still living by faith when they died. They did not receive the things promised; they only saw them and welcomed them from a distance. And they admitted that they were aliens and strangers on earth. 14People who say such things show that they are looking for a country of their own. 15If they had been thinking of the country they had left, they would have had opportunity to return. 16Instead, they were longing for a better country—a heavenly one. Therefore God is not ashamed to be called their God, for he has prepared a city for them.

I must confess that these words are a difficult “act to follow,” as they say.  I’m quite sure there is nothing that I could possibly say to build on the fantastic prospect that God has for us, as so eloquently penned here.  In this day, when our country is so divided, when threats face our nation, when the world seems on the brink of destruction, I have this hope.  This is why I do not worry.   When my heart beats its last or when I am swept up on the wings of the wind at the archangel’s shout, I have this to look forward to.  Right now I am a stranger in a foreign land.  My home is not this Earth.  My mind, my heart of hearts knows that I am destined for another country.  I am merely on a journey, on the verge of finding my home land.  My God has prepared a city for me.  This life is merely a preclude to the next.  I call Him My God and He is not ashamed to call me His child.

Awaiting my final destination,

Jennifer

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

